January 2, 2014

I think it is definitely a good idea that I decided to do this project. Only 2 days into the new year and my “not worrying” thing has been tested. 

One of my sisters and I recently moved into an apartment and we came home from spending New Years Eve/Day with my Grandma to find that our heater would not shut off. After a rough and semi sleepless night I turned it off at the circuit breaker and called the management to have it fixed I went on with my day. 

The big problem and one of the main reasons I wanted to start this is because of my current full time job. I found out on 12/23 that my local library is interested in interviewing me for a part time position. It would be a DREAM to not only work at the library but to work in MY FIELD. I could actually have something to do with History on my resume. The catch: the only times they could interview me were on a day 1 of my two co-workers would be out of the office or on our new student orientation day. To say that my Christmas break was filled with panic was NOT an exaggeration. While I am incredibly grateful for my job and I like the people I work with, there are days where the stress almost seems too much. So I went in today, fully expecting to plead my case but my co-worker shrugged it off and was like ” Ok.” It was that simple. I felt like a fool until I checked my email to see it would have to be rescheduled. <Insert mini panic attack> Clearly, this thinking positively thing is not going to be 100% easy. After my sister kindly reminded me ” Don’t worry, Be Happy”, turns out my new time works MUCH better. 

I spent 2 weeks with this sheer panic in the back of my mind and it was all for nothing. Now, I am not saying that we should never worry about anything because, the world does NOT work like that. Floating through life completely careless is more than a little irresponsible. We all need to stop worrying about the things we can’t change. 

Switching gears a bit, I have finally got one of my friends to start watching the vlogbrothers on YouTube. If you have no idea who I am talking about, do yourself a favor and go check it out right now. One of the reasons this is particularly exciting for me is because I see/hear so much of my friend when I listen to John Green. Not only is he a self proclaimed nerd but his vocabulary and way of expressing himself just blows me away every time. That is the same way I feel when I am around Elizabeth. Well, that and she constantly flatters me. 😉  If I am ever doubting that I am beautiful or just need a dose of reality or someone to squeal over Doctor Who with, she is there ready and waiting. She is going to be a fantastic, famous, and wealthy author someday. Check her blog out here http://elizabethjenike.wordpress.com/ Shameless plug aside, she is one of the best people on this planet and is insanely clever. You won’t regret your time over there.

My day at work and at home ended up being pretty great. Nothing too stressful and I got to come home and be lazy! Something I definitely am taking advantage of.

So far 2014 you have not been too bad. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rFHDP0qG_0

6 thoughts on “January 2, 2014

  1. You need to remember that quote!!

    “Don’t worry about the future. Or worry, but know that worrying is as effective as trying to solve an algebra equation by chewing bubble gum. The real troubles in your life are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind…”

  2. I found your blog while looking through the John Green tag and I just wanted to tell you I’ve really enjoyed it so far! Can’t wait to see how your year goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

