January 6, 2014

( I apologize for the quick rant about the cold)

Hello from Kentucky where it is -8 degrees and a windchill of -25 degrees. I thank my lucky stars that I have a place with working heat but unfortunately my car doesn’t feel the same. I’m lucky that my job delayed opening for 2 hours, I just wish it had helped more with my car. I drive a 1981 Buick LeSabre (her name is Elenore) and she is a beast of a car. The wind makes it so cold that as you are slipping and sliding your way to the car you can’t breathe easily at all. It was ridiculous. I did get to work safely at least but it was an interesting trip to say the least.

(rant over)

Work today was …ok. Since I can’t share any details let’s just say I had to sit in on something I have never had to do before and it was very VERY hard for me to keep my opinion to myself and just sit quietly. While I was sitting there I realized that even though I may not be a Wonder Woman like my co worker in the students eyes they DO see me as a positive and sweet force in the department and on days where I am doubting myself and trying to compare myself to people that have been there longer than I, I will remember this day. Positive reinforcement is hard to come by there (except from 1 half of Walbott) reminding me that he appreciates me. I just do what I am told and hope for good things. New Year’s luncheon tomorrow which can either mean, high stress crazies or a really fun time together as a big team. I am going to go to work tomorrow believing that it will be a really good time. I know I can always sit by Walbott number 1 if I need a buddy 🙂

I came back home and spent time with 3 of my 4 younger sibs playing a game that is a mix of headbands and Ellen’s game Head’s Up and it is HILARIOUS to watch. Oh my good Lord. My sister Gracie Lou about died when Jordan and I tried to act out “U Can’t Touch This” and well.. we were not too good. Mostly because we went in opposite directions from each other and I did not get the steps right. I really cannot get enough of spending time with my family. I am thankful everyday for the wonderful people I was blessed enough to call MY family.

On an extremely happy note, MY BEST FRIEND IS BACK !! (Insert Happy Dance here!) Sadly, we are separated from each other still as it is too cold to function. 😦 Meh. Jadis, has returned to me from the West and I can’t wait to see her again (tried to give you a Narnia nickname)!

Everyone reading this please send happy thoughts that I could possibly have another delay tomorrow?? I really do not want to have to chisel my car out at 6:30 am in -8 degree weather. Pleas please please please!

I want to take a moment before we get further into this project and 2014 itself and say that I will almost definitely make spelling errors, grammar errors and typos. I am sorry in advance. I will try and fix them as soon as possible!

Thank you SO SO much to all of you who are reading this. It means more to me than I can express to you.

Good night

Much Love!

P.S. I am attaching a picture from my “Keep Calm and Carry On” desk calendar for today. I thought it was hilarious and appropriate for the way I felt this morning.

Image

Leave a Reply

