Why Goodreads scares me

I heard about Goodreads about 6 months or so before I actually broke down and got an account. This was for one major reason, I was scared. I spent last night devouring 2 books with in a span of a handful of hours and it was awesome and I was so excited to share about it on my Goodreads page before the fear of judgement stopped me.

My family is well aware of my very specific yet kind of weird reading tastes. I adore anything with a happy ending. Frankly, the sappier the better. For the most part, I never read anything too deep and philosophical and I love “inspirational romance” novels (aka romance novels without sex).  Compared to the books my English major buddies read these are a joke. I know that we should all be happy that people are reading but sometimes I get scared that my friends will judge the types of books I read. One friend in particular but everything I do seems to be weird to him so, whatever.

Here are the last 4 books I read:

  1. Perfectly Matched by Maggie Brennan
  2. Deeply Devoted by Maggie Brennan
  3. Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not by Thompson Square
  4. Christmas in Sugar creek by Shelley Sheppard Gray

All four of these would be considered ” Inspirational/Christian Fiction” and you know what, I love them! So I am going to try and make an effort NOT to be a big chicken and hide the books I’ve read for fear of people making fun of me in the comfort of their own homes. In fact, I am going to go in and add the 4th book onto my Goodreads page right now. Sometimes I do read deeper novels and sometimes I just enjoy reading for the sake of it. I want to be able to unashamedly use Goodreads as a Facebook for book lovers and enjoy the experience.

So people of Goodreads, if you follow me, be forewarned that you will be seeing a lot of cheesy books from me for a long while

 

 

Leave a Reply

