The Hobbit, A Review

 

Image

**SPOILERS Don’t read if you haven’t read The Hobbit**

Last semester, Jordan took a class called Literature and Film:British Fantasy. One of the many awesome books required in the class was J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. My sister loved it and read it with a fresh mind seeing as how she had never watched and of the Lord of the Rings or the first Hobbit movie adaptations. So, I set out to read it as well. It had been on my ‘to read’ list for awhile now and thought I would give it a go. Especially after all the high praise he has received from my English major friends.

Before I am attacked by Hobbit fans let me just say first, Tolkien is amazing. The talent he has for descriptions and the fact that he created an entire world, language and all, should be enough reason for everyone to like him. I think he is absolutely wonderful and I want that noted so that the rest of it isn’t taken the wrong way.

The beginning blew me away. I have never heard of a home in a hole in the ground being described that perfectly. I just couldn’t believe how much he was providing the reader’s imaginations with in just that first chapter.

Now, I had watched all 3 LOTR movies and both Hobbit films prior to beginning this book. I am here to say, I wish I hadn’t. As I stated before I absolutely love Tolkien but his book is so full of descriptions and little reminders to the readers of what happened previously that it kind of fell flat. It ONLY fell flat because I had the movie mentality going into it. I was shocked by how little action actually happened in contrast. That did not make the book bad, just not entirely what I was expecting.

It is also hard to imagine the dwarfs the way you’re supposed to when your as much in love with Richard Armitage as I am. I read how Thorin is supposed to look/sound/act and all I see are his bright blue eyes and I swoon. Jordan’s teacher described them as “the underwear models of middle earth” in her class and I think that’s fairly accurate. Heaven forbid girls go see a fantasy flick without hot men and a sappy love story (insert eye roll). Which reminds me, check out my friend Beth’s blog for more on this subject. 😉

Of all the amazing quotes in the book, the one that stood out most to me was this one:

” If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world”

Thorin, on his death bed says this to Bilbo and it just pulled at my heart strings. Bilbo who had been sort of made fun of the entire book for his “beliefs” or what he found “valuable” is told by the dying King under the mountain that he was the one that truly had it right all along.  I think it means so much more that Thorin says it here rather than elsewhere in the book because you know he is truly sorry and he has nothing more to gain. I don’t know, I just really loved that quote.

Anywhoo, I did truly love and enjoy the book. I think it should be one of those classics everyone is required to read in school or at some point in their life.

 

2 thoughts on “The Hobbit, A Review

  1. HOBBITTTTTT. No I’m completely with you about the flatness of the language. “Flat” isn’t exactly the term I would use to describe it, but I understand why you used this word. Tolkien’s writing is just not cinematic. I had a friend in high school who used to say he could take six pages to describe a horse . . . and she was right. I think a lot of folks get caught up in OMG TOLKIEN HOW AWESOMEEEEEEE but I think the real value in what he did was to pave the way for the epic fantasy genre as we see it today.

    tl;dr Tolkien was great but long-winded.

  2. He was SO GREAT! I think all fantasy writers owe him a huge debt of gratitude but his writing, as you said, is not very cinematic and for me, that left a bit to be desired.

Leave a Reply

