Paper Towns, a review

Image

So, since I am such a huge fan of the Vlogbrother’s and John Green in general, I thought it was high time I read the rest of his works. Jordan and I each read one and then we’re going to switch and discuss. I chose Paper Towns since it had been highly recommended to me by quite a few of my friends.

I LOVED Paper Towns! It was WONDERFUL! Just as witty and deep as you would expect from John Green. My one “complaint” would be that it was a slow build. It took a bit longer to get the story going compared to The Fault in Our Stars, in my opinion.  I won’t tell too many details of the story simply because I don’t want to spoil it. I will say though that one of the things I loved the most, is that the “nerds” were champions. It was great.

Yet my favorite part of the book was this reoccurring theme that humans are made of stings on the inside. That when one string breaks we can’t be put back together. How completely painful and fragile that makes our emotions and psyche seem. At first I had to take myself out of the book for a minute and think about that. Imagine if we couldn’t be fixed. What would that feel like? I mean techinically yes, strings CAN be put back together but there will always be that knot in the way. They will never be perfect.

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS after this line

Ok, you were warned

So, I’m not an English major by any stretch but I know what I enjoy reading and I know the importance of words. This whole exchange between Q and Margo was the best part of the book in my opinion and it was so beautifully written.

“… I always thought of it like you said, that the strings inside him broke. But there are a thousand ways to look at it: maybe the strings break, or maybe our ships sink, or maybe we’re grass- our roots so interdependent that no one is dead as long as someone is still alive. We don’t suffer from a shortage of metaphors… But you have to be careful which metaphor you chose because it matters.  If you chose the strings, then you’re imaging a world in which you can become irreparably broken. If you choose the grass, you’re saying that we are all infinitely interconnected, that we can use these root systems not only to understand one another but to become one another. The metaphors have implications…I like the strings. I always have. Because that’s how it feels. But the strings make pain seem more fatal than it is, I think. We’re not as frail as the strings would make us believe.”

Sorry for the long quote but I loved all of it and thought it necessary to share. PLEASE take some time out of your day and read John Green’s books. They will change your life. Next up for me will (hopefully) be An Abundance of Katherines.

Have a great day everyone!

Lots of love from me 🙂

One thought on “Paper Towns, a review

Leave a Reply

