Advent books

As I am sure people have realized now, I love books.  Another thing I love, Britain.  One more? Ok! Christmas. I love Christmas.

My point?

I have become pretty obsessed with some British YouTubers recently and most of them did something called “Vlogmas” where they vlog every day til Christmas.  My favorite part was the advent calendars. Oh my gosh do they have awesome and fun advent calendars in the UK! Well, I have been creeping around Amazon trying to find one for my household when I cam across the best thing ever. An advent season of books!

Gasp wha????!!! I just about cried.

One of my favorite things to read is novellas, especially historical ones, written by my favorite Inspirational Fiction writers. One of the bottom halves of my bookshelves is all collections of novellas of this type. Seriously. So, most of my top favorite authors have joined together and for the 12 weeks leading up to Christmas they are releasing a novella a week via e-readers! This is doubly exciting because I could go through and kind of pick and choose which ones I wanted. I always spend 10-12 dollars on these collections and inevitably, there is one story I just do not like. I don’t know why, I’m just picky when it comes to my books!

So, I got the first one on Monday!! It was called ” The Advent Bride” it was one of the 5 I decided to purchase. (I’m trying to save money now so this was super hard for me!)

I just want to do a quick review on the book and maybe I will do it for the four other books I decided to buy in this Advent celebration!

Obviously, I liked it enough for it to pass my ” I am going to spend money one this” test. The story seemed super cute and I was excited to see where it would go. I have to say it started out very good and I did enjoy reading it. I am a huge fan of Mary Connealy’s and have read some of her other things as well.  My one complaint, was that it was a little too short. I know this is a novella but I am used to 50-90 quality paperback sized pages.. not 50kindle pages in a novella. I felt like I didn’t get enough of a build between the characters and their story lines felt a bit hurried.  It was still well written and the ending was sweet but I would have liked more time with Hank, Melanie and Simon before the end.

If Christian Fiction/Christian Romance interests you at all, please check these out! The 12 Brides of Christmas project is so exciting and I hope everyone loves it as much as I plan to! 🙂

YAY! 11 weeks and a few days til Christmas! Whoop, whoop! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

