84 Charing Cross Road

Hello everyone!

So, I have one book down in the 2015 Reading Challenge! I finished Helene Hanff’s 84 Charing Cross Road.

84, Charing Cross Road

Like I mentioned before, I had intended to use it as my “banned” book but found out that you cannot trust Goodreads lists… which means I will have to rethink more than a few of my books…

Anyways, I have to say I enjoyed every word in this book. It was so wonderful “listening” to the cross Atlantic letters between Helene and the booksellers at 84 Charing Cross Road. It was a bit too short for me and it didn’t the end the way I wanted it to but over all it was adorable. I loved connecting with a group of people that love books as much as I do!

I think what made this book even more special is that I have been to Charing Cross road. Not number 84 (to my knowledge anyways) but it is a wonderfully charming road of book shops you could easily get lost in. Britain is great at so many things, one of which is definitely her books/bookstores. You have not lived until you have been in the Piccadilly Circus Waterstones. It’s a bibliophile’s dream come true… For real.

I’m not sure what I am going to read next.. I have quite a few options sitting at home. I’m attempting to read North and South by Elizabeth Glaskell but am not making too much headway into the tale. I like the movie so very much and right now the book is quite dry.. I may put her on the back burner and start with something quicker then again this is the whole reason I am doing the challenge- to read outside of what I normal do.

Leave a Reply

