Skip Rock Shallows (Challenge book 2)

Yay! Book two in the challenge complete! I believe I told you guys my next book was the “classic romance” option. Well…. that is a bit slow going and so I decided to put it on the back burner to when I have more time to read. This was my fear starting this project but I don’t want to give up entirely so I thought I better give myself some incentive!

Anyways, book 2 was ” a story from your hometown” and I had quite a difficult time finding something that would work. First off, Kentucky in general- not a place a lot of books are set. To live in a fairly unknown town makes it even harder. I did not want to read an Arcadia book about Kentucky so I broadened my horizons to the state of Kentucky. I found Jan Watson’s Skip Rock Shallows

skip rock

Stupidly, I did not realize until I finished the book that I was starting with book 3 in a series. Oh well, it was still enjoyable.

Now, I know some people might protest since this does not take place in my hometown but most of my family is from southern Kentucky and some of the places and the way people talk were so familiar to me.

I completely enjoyed reading this book! It was beautifully written and I really love the storied involving women doctors trying to make a name for themselves. It’s been a passion of mine ever since Dr. Quinn came out haha. I really loved Lilly and Armina and Ned so much. I wish I could go into more detail but critiquing writing is not my strong suit. All I know is that I loved it, I felt a connection with the places because my roots come from there too, and I am excited to read more of Jan Watson’s books!

I’ve decided challenge 3 is going to be “a book recommended by a friend”.  Now, here is the hard part about this-most of my friends are bibliophiles like me. I get recommendations all the time! In addition, I work at a local bookstore where we have a whole table of “Staff Picks”. Books myself and my friends/coworkers recommend are worth a read. Needless to say, this would be a hard task to pick just one.

In the end, I decided to go with A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor. My friend and coworker Anita suggested it and let me borrow her ARC copy of it.

More to come! Hope everyone is having a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

