A Memory of Violets (Challenge Book 3)

Good afternoon all,

Book 3 finished! YAY!

Now as I was talking about last time, this was going to be one of the hardest to complete. The “read a book a friend recommends” was going to be difficult because I have way too many books to choose from. Most of my close friends are English majors and/or extreme bibliophiles like myself. I have book recommendations coming at me from everywhere. I also work in a book store. A book store where there is this:

Staff Picks

A table full of books my coworkers/friends favorite books. So, yeah, a bit of a challenge. Anyways, I picked A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor as recommended to me by my friend Anita. OH MY GOODNESS was it good!!! Ahh!!!!

violets

I honestly cannot say enough good things about this book. I am SO glad I had the opportunity to read it! (thank you again Anita!). It was so beautifully written, the characters were amazing, and I feel it had something to offer everyone. I VERY much enjoyed it all.

What I loved the most though was the way the story was presented to us as the audience. We start out the story from Florrie’s point of view and then switch to mostly Tilly’s point of view. I’ve read a few novels that try and hop back and forth from “present day” to the past that do not do it well. However, this is not the case for A Memory of Violets. There is a seamless transition between Tilly and Florrie and it brought more to the book to flip back and forth versus solely from Tilly’s stand point. I also loved that is was told from an “older sister” point of view and the contrast of the relationship between Tilly and Ester and Florrie and Rosie.

The added bonus that this story is based in real events makes it that much more enjoyable. I think it has something to offer every reader.

I was lucky, do to my bookstore job, to read an Advanced copy of it. Luckily though, it’s street date was listed as tomorrow, February 3rd! I HIGHLY recommend going and getting a copy. It was SO very good.

Next up is ” a book with a one word title” and I have chosen (at least temporarily) Longbourn by Jo Baker. We shall see how this goes! I don’t know if I am really following my “read outside my comfort zone” goal but I am sure enjoying myself!

Let me know what you all think! I will see everyone for book 4 if not before!

Lots of love!

Leave a Reply

